In Dubai, a AED 2 million apartment comes with a ten-year residence permit, but not with tax residence. That depends on days spent in the UAE, and the buyer’s home country still decides whether they ever left. The permit itself is real: an investor who owns property bought for AED 2 million or more can apply through the Dubai Land Department for a “10-years renewable residence permit” that also covers a spouse, children and parents, for AED 9,884.75 in fees and in 7 to 10 business days (DLD e-service page, read September 28, 2026). Some broker copy sets a second promise beside it: that the new resident will stop paying tax.
That promise does not come with the keys. Under Cabinet Decision No. 85 of 2022, a person becomes a UAE tax resident through days spent in the country or a life centered there, and a residence permit on its own satisfies neither. The buyer’s home country then applies its own rules on whether they ever left. The broker who writes “tax free” beside a listing this year is the name on the complaint when a home tax office writes to that buyer. Sell the permit, state the day counts in plain words, and introduce a tax adviser from the buyer’s own country as part of the service.
A record market with a permit attached
2025 was the largest year Dubai property has recorded. The emirate’s Department of Finance reports more than 270,000 transactions worth AED 917 billion, up 20 percent on 2024, and an investor base of about 193,100, of whom 129,600 were new. Resident investors accounted for 56.6 percent of the total (Dubai Department of Finance, January 12, 2026). More than four in ten investors, in other words, were buying from somewhere else.
At the top of the market the rise was steeper. Knight Frank’s prime index put Dubai’s prime prices up 25.1 percent in 2025, second of 100 markets behind Tokyo at 58.5 percent, against a global average of 3.2 percent. Dubai recorded 500 home sales above US$10 million in 2025, up from 113 in 2021 (Knight Frank, The Wealth Report 2026).
Against those prices the permit is cheap. AED 2 million is about USD 545,000 at the Central Bank of the UAE’s rate of 3.6725 dirhams to the dollar (June 1, 2026), and the fees come to about USD 2,700. That is why it sells so well, and why so much else gets loaded onto it. Knight Frank’s own report calls Dubai “a tax efficient hub for highly mobile wealth.” For a family that moves its life there, that can hold. For an owner with a let apartment on the Marina and a family home in Manchester, it describes somebody else.
Three official pages, three versions of the rule
Before any tax question arises, the visa terms themselves are unsettled in print. Three government pages, as read on September 28, 2026:
01 / 03
Dubai Land Department, investor golden visa e-service
Date shown
Site stamp September 23, 2026
Term for property investors
10 years, renewable
Mortgage
Description asks for a bank letter showing “2 million AED paid amount”; service terms ask for a no-objection letter “indicating the paid amount and the balance”
Off-plan
Not mentioned; a title deed is a listed document
02 / 03
ICP, Golden Residency guide
Date shown
Page stamp September 10, 2026
Term for property investors
10 years
Mortgage
Financing allowed “from an approved local bank”
Off-plan
Allowed if bought “from an approved local real estate company”
03 / 03
u.ae, federal government portal
Date shown
July 28, 2026
Term for property investors
“5 years (real estate investments)”
Mortgage
Not stated
Off-plan
Not stated
| Source | Date shown | Term for property investors | Mortgage | Off-plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dubai Land Department, investor golden visa e-service | Site stamp September 23, 2026 | 10 years, renewable | Description asks for a bank letter showing “2 million AED paid amount”; service terms ask for a no-objection letter “indicating the paid amount and the balance” | Not mentioned; a title deed is a listed document |
| ICP, Golden Residency guide | Page stamp September 10, 2026 | 10 years | Financing allowed “from an approved local bank” | Allowed if bought “from an approved local real estate company” |
| u.ae, federal government portal | July 28, 2026 | “5 years (real estate investments)” | Not stated | Not stated |
The DLD page disagrees with itself on the mortgage, and the federal portal disagrees with both on the term.
Broker blogs fill the gap with confidence, in opposite directions. Sherwoods Property wrote on June 2, 2026 that, after a policy circular dated February 20, 2026, “Payment stage, financing structure, and off-plan status are now irrelevant to eligibility.” First Call Real Estate wrote on August 20, 2026: “The equity portion must reach AED 2M. The property value alone is not the figure that counts.” Pearlshire, in a guide last updated the same day, said it was “unable to confirm this against a primary DLD document” and told off-plan buyers to check with DLD before buying. Of the three, only the last gives a buyer something safe to act on.
Only one of these pages belongs to the office that processes the Dubai application. Quote it, link it, give the date you read it, and name the point where the federal pages differ. When the visa depends on a mortgage, the bank’s no-objection letter settles the question for that buyer, so get its wording before the permit goes into the pitch.
The three tests the permit does not pass
Cabinet Decision No. 85 of 2022, in force since March 1, 2023, sets out in Article 4 the routes by which an individual becomes a UAE tax resident:
- The person’s “usual or primary place of residence and the centre of his financial and personal interests” are in the UAE.
- The person was physically present for 183 days or more within the relevant 12 consecutive months.
- The person was present for 90 days or more in that period, holds a valid residence permit (or is a UAE or GCC national), and either has a “Permanent Place of Residence” in the UAE or carries on employment or business there.
The Federal Tax Authority’s guide, drawing on Ministerial Decision No. 27 of 2023, adds the detail that decides real cases. Any day “or any part of a day, however brief,” counts as a full day, and the days need not be consecutive. A Permanent Place of Residence must be available “at all times continuously and on a regular basis,” and a place “occupied by the natural person just occasionally or temporarily” does not qualify. To prove the 90-day route, the authority asks for an Emirates ID and residence visa, or a passport with an entry and exit report, plus proof of work or of a permanent home, such as a “title deed with a utility bill” in the applicant’s name (Federal Tax Authority, TPGTR1, October 2024).
Read together, the golden visa apartment can carry a buyer into UAE tax residence, on a condition sales copy rarely states: the buyer keeps it for their own use and spends at least 90 days a year in the country. An apartment let to a tenant on an annual lease is hard to describe as continuously available to its owner.
The product is sold on the opposite habit. The federal portal lists among golden visa benefits “the ability to stay outside the UAE for more than the usual period of six months needed to keep their residence visa valid” (u.ae). First Call Real Estate calls it “the benefit most applicants overlook: zero minimum stay,” adding that the holder “can live outside the UAE for the entire 10-year visa period.” Both statements are accurate. A buyer who uses the permit exactly as advertised will, in most years, meet none of the three tests.
The visa is built for absence. The tax test is built for presence.
The home country writes the other half
“The UAE does not levy income tax on individuals” (u.ae). That sentence is true in Dubai and says nothing about anywhere else. UAE tax residence, where a buyer achieves it, does not end residence at home, and a Dubai title deed is not proof of having left. Four home countries, as examples:
01 / 04
United States
What still applies
Citizens and resident aliens abroad are “subject to tax on worldwide income from all sources”
Source
IRS
02 / 04
United Kingdom
What still applies
Someone UK resident in any of the previous three tax years is automatically non-resident below 16 days in the UK, or below 91 days if working full-time overseas within set limits on UK workdays; otherwise UK days and ties such as family or accommodation decide. If non-residence lasts five years or less, some income and gains from the absence can be taxed on return
Source
HMRC, RDR3, updated June 11, 2026
03 / 04
Germany
What still applies
Giving up residence after 7 of the previous 12 years of full liability triggers tax on company stakes of 1 percent or more, valued at fair market value. German nationals fully liable for at least 5 of the previous 10 years who move to a low-tax country while keeping essential economic interests in Germany face an extended liability for up to ten years
Source
Außensteuergesetz §§ 2 and 6; Einkommensteuergesetz § 17
04 / 04
India
What still applies
A citizen with total income above 15 lakh rupees, other than from foreign sources, “shall be deemed to be Resident in India if he / she is not liable to pay tax in any country”
Source
Income Tax Department of India
| Home country | What still applies | Source |
|---|---|---|
| United States | Citizens and resident aliens abroad are “subject to tax on worldwide income from all sources” | IRS |
| United Kingdom | Someone UK resident in any of the previous three tax years is automatically non-resident below 16 days in the UK, or below 91 days if working full-time overseas within set limits on UK workdays; otherwise UK days and ties such as family or accommodation decide. If non-residence lasts five years or less, some income and gains from the absence can be taxed on return | HMRC, RDR3, updated June 11, 2026 |
| Germany | Giving up residence after 7 of the previous 12 years of full liability triggers tax on company stakes of 1 percent or more, valued at fair market value. German nationals fully liable for at least 5 of the previous 10 years who move to a low-tax country while keeping essential economic interests in Germany face an extended liability for up to ten years | Außensteuergesetz §§ 2 and 6; Einkommensteuergesetz § 17 |
| India | A citizen with total income above 15 lakh rupees, other than from foreign sources, “shall be deemed to be Resident in India if he / she is not liable to pay tax in any country” | Income Tax Department of India |
Copy that ignores this is easy to find. First Call Real Estate tells Indian applicants that “UAE tax residency provides a significant income tax benefit compared to Indian tax domicile.” The same guide, to its credit, warns Americans that the visa is not a US tax exemption. The Indian line needed the same care: a citizen with substantial Indian income who pays no income tax in the UAE is exactly the profile the deemed-residence rule describes.
None of this is tax advice for any buyer. It is the reason every buyer needs some, from someone licensed in the country they are leaving.
The complaint arrives after the commission
A residence permit is checked when it is issued. A tax position is checked years later, when a home authority asks where the buyer was, and on which days. By then the listing, the brochure and the message that said “tax free” are the evidence, and the person who wrote them is easy to find. The buyer will not blame their own tax office for applying its own law. They will blame whoever sold them the sentence.
The fix costs one paragraph. A listing can say:
“This property meets the Dubai Land Department’s published conditions for a 10-year renewable residence permit, as read on [date]. A residence permit does not by itself make you a UAE tax resident. That depends on the days you spend here and where your life is based, and your home country’s rules still apply. Before you sign, we will introduce you to a tax adviser in your own country.”
That paragraph loses no serious buyer. The ones it loses were buying a tax outcome no developer can deliver, and they would have come back later with a lawyer.
What the unit includes, and what it does not
- Included: a route to a 10-year renewable residence permit at AED 2 million, per the DLD page as read on a stated date.
- Not included: UAE tax residence, which takes 183 days, or 90 days with a permit and either a home kept available or work in the UAE, or a life centered there.
- Never included: an exit from the buyer’s home tax system. Only that country decides.



